Academic Affairs

Department Chairs


The chairs of the University's academic departments meet with the Provost on a regular basis. These meetings provide an opportunity for the Provost to consult with departments on policies and practices. The meetings usually are from 9:00am to 10:50am, in Goodwin Forum (NHE 102) unless otherwise noted.

Department Chairs Meeting Schedule 2015/2016


Department Chairs

Deans, Department Chairs and Support Staff (pdf)

Anthropology Mary Scoggin 5286
Art Kris Patzlaff 3638
Biological Sciences Bruce O'Gara 3246
Business, School of Harinder Singh 3846
Chemistry Joshua Smith 4882
Child Development Claire Knox 5854
Communication Armeda Reitzel 3779
Computer Science Jeff Hagg 3217
Critical Race, Gender & Sexuality Studies (CRGS) Kim Berry 3973
Economics Steve Hackett 3216
Education, School of Mary Dingle 3719
English Laura Hahn 3948
Envr Res Engineering Elizabeth Eschenbach 4348
Envr Sci & Management Steven Martin 5637
Fisheries Biology Andrew Kinziger 3447
Forestry & Wildland Res David Greene 5244
Geography Rosemary Sherriff 4975
Geology Mark Hemphill-Haley 3933
History Robert Cliver 3643
Journalism & Mass Comm Marcy Burstiner 4725
Kinesiology & Rec Admin Rock Braithwaite 4543
Leadership Studies Chris Hopper 3853
Mathematics Jeff Haag 3217
Music Cindy Moyer 5758
Native American Studies Marlon Sherman 3479
Oceanography Jeff Abell 5621
Philosophy David Heise 5766
Physics & Astronomy Joshua Smith 4882
Politics John Meyer 4496
Psychology William Reynolds 3162
Religious Studies Sarah Hart 4975
Social Work Ronnie Swartz 4562
Sociology Jennifer Eichstedt 4569
Theatre, Film & Dance Ann Alter 5495
Wildlife Management Micaela Szykman Gunther 3520
World Languages & Cultures Rosamel Benavides-Garb  3159


Humboldt State University