HSU homepage

Faculty & Staff

Rosemary Sherriff

Interim Program Leader (AY 2018-2019)
Professor

Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder
Home Department: Geography
Email: sherriff@humboldt.edu
 

Research Interests:

Biogeography, landscape ecology, forest disturbances (wildfire, insect outbreaks), dendroecology, geospatial analysis.

Janelle Adsit
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., SUNY Albany
Home Department:  English
Phone:  707.826.5936
CURRENT RESEARCH, SCHOLARLY INTERESTS, AND RELATED ACTIVITIES
Creative Writing; Environmental Writing; Literary Publishing; Faculty Advisor for the Toyon Literary Magazine; Labor in Higher Education; Histories of Writing Instruction
Mark Baker

Professor
Ph.D., University of California Berkeley
Home Department:  Politics
Email:  j.mark.baker@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Environment-Community Relationships

Tim Bean

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
B.A., Columbia University
Home Department:  Wildlife
Email:  bean@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Spatial ecology and climate adaptation of mammals; conservation science; historical ecology; wildlife and humanities.

Loren Cannon

Lecturer
Ph.D., Arizona State University
Home Department:  Philosophy
Email:  llc33@humboldt.edu
 

Research Interests

Ethics, Environmental Ethics, and Gender Theory

Image of Matthew Derrick

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Home Department:  Geography
Email:  mad632@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Cultural & Political Geography; Geopolitics

Kevin Fingerman

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Home Department:  Environmental Science and Management
Email:  Kevin.Fingerman@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Environmental Geography

Nicole Jean Hill

Professor
MFA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Home Department:  Art
Email:  njh27@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Photographing familiar spaces and activities within the American cultural and natural landscape.

Lecturer
Ph.D., Geography, Michigan State University
Home Department:  Geography
Email:  Laura.Johnson@humboldt.edu
Research Interests
Place Studies, Ecofeminism, Environmental Justice, Agro-Food Systems, Relational Geographies, Qualitative Methods, Community Action Research.

Matthew Johnson

Professor
Ph.D., Tulane University
Home Department:  Wildlife
Email:  mdj6@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Wildlife habitat relationships, ecology and conservation of migratory songbirds

Visiting Faculty
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
Home Department:  Environmental Studies
Email:  Chris.Malcolm@humboldt.edu
 
RESEARCH INTERESTS
Environmental Humanities; environmental justice; film and media studies; settler-colonial studies; critical theory.

Image of John Meyer

Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison
Home Department:  Politics
Email:  john.meyer@humboldt.edu

Research Interests:

Environment and Social Criticism

Alison Purcell O'Dowd

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Home Department:  Environmental Science and Management
Email:  alison.odowd@humboldt.edu
 

Research Interests: 

Restoration of damaged ecosystems; Ecology of freshwater systems

Sarah Ray

Program Leader (On Sabbatical)
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Oregon
Home Department:  Geography 
Email:  Sarah.Ray@humboldt.edu

Research Interests

Environmental humanities, environmental justice, new cultural geography, and cultural studies

Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Home Department: Native American Studies
Email: Cutcha.Baldy@humboldt.edu
 
Research Interests:
Indigenous feminisms, Decolonization, California Indian politics & culture, environmental justice, community-based research & evaluation, nonprofit & tribal development.

Assistant Professor
Home Department:  Elementary Education
Email:  Marisol.Ruiz@humboldt.edu

Marlon Sherman

Professor
Home Department:  Native American Studies
Email:  ms31@humboldt.edu
 

Research Interests:
Jessica Urban

Associate Professor 
Ph.D., Political Science
Home Department:  Critical Race, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Email:  jessica.urban@humboldt.edu

Research Interests:

International Relations, Comparative Politics, International Development, Gender and Development, Public Policy (focusing on human rights, welfare "reform," structural adjustment, HIV/AIDS, reproduction, and immigration), and “Understanding Difference: Race, Class and Gender."  

Department Coordinator
Geography/Environmental Studies
Humboldt State University
707-826-3946
Noah Zerbe

Professor
Ph.D., York University, Toronto
Home Department:  Politics
Email:  noah.zerbe@humboldt.edu

Research Interests:  

The intersection of politics, economics, technology and food politics