Humboldt Geographers do it again at the 2017 California Geographical Society Meeting

Humboldt Geographers do it again. After a long but fun road trip down to San Diego, Humboldt came home with top awards from the California Geographical Society meeting. The 16 current students, along with alumni, who attended represented HSU Geography with strong enthusiasm and professionalism. We want to thank all of our drivers, Kevin Maurer, Nick Perdue and in particular Amy Lautamo for her leadership skills as trip organizer-assistant to Matthew Derrick for the GEOG 469 course.
We had three first place student awardees. Nathaniel Douglass won 1st place for the McKnight Professional Paper Award. Russ Walls won 1st place for the Geosystems Professional Paper Award. Torrie Brickley won 1st place for the Student Cartography Competition. Many of our students were also awarded David Lantis Scholarship and Student Travel Awards. Well done!
Our faculty got in on the action, too. Professor Matthew Derrick was awarded the Friend of Geography Award, and he was elected CGS vice president. Dr. Nick Perdue was elected to the organization’s board, as was Merien Townsel, our recent graduate and current Administrative Support Assistant.
More photos coming soon.