Much of Moodle 's functionality is automatic, but there are a few aspects of the system for which faculty need to take direct responsibility.
Back-ups are the responsibility of the instructor. As with any other computer files, you should back up your Moodle course and save it to your computer as needed during the term and at the end of the semester. The maximum file size for self-service backups is 256MB; to back up larger files, please contact Moodle Support . If you have problems backing up (or restoring backup copies), call (707) 826-3633 for assistance.
At the end of each semester, active courses are rendered inaccessible to students by the Help Desk in order to comply with copyright laws, usually a week after grades are completed. Instructors can still access to their courses by clicking the "Show Hidden Courses" link. Instructors may choose to exclude those students who have completed all coursework, but continue to make the course available to those students needing to finish incomplete classes.
Inactive course sites are stored on the Moodle server for 12 months after the course is completed. It is the instructor's responsibility to maintain records of student grades and any other pertinent student records, as this information is not stored with the course backup. Moodle should never be used for file storage, especially one of a kind documents. Outdated material should be removed if you will not be using it again.
Moodle integrates directly with HSU's PeopleSoft information system, so student enrollment is handled automatically. Faculty can manually add students, teaching assistants, and instructors not officially registered for the course. Note that students cannot be permanently dropped through Moodle; this must be undertaken through the Account Center .
Moodle class registries are updated three times a day, every day. Students can attend a Moodle class as soon as they have signed up for the course in the Account Center, although it may take a few hours for students who have added a class but not signed in yet to show up in the instructor's class roster (you can check this by clicking on the Participants link in the Account Center Control Panel). Students who drop the class are automatically removed from the registry.