Humboldt State University

May 6, 2015

Provost Search Committee

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the creation of a search committee to help us identify a Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for Humboldt State University.

The following individuals have been elected or appointed, following the specifications outlined for this search in the Faculty Handbook.

Dean Steve Smith, College of Natural Resources and Sciences, Committee Chair
Professor Julie Alderson, Department of Art
Professor J. Mark Baker, Department of Politics
Professor Rosamel Benavides-Garb, Department of World Languages and Cultures
Professor Chris Hopper, Department of Kinesiology and Recreation Administration
Professor Erin Kelly, Department of Forestry and Wildland Resources
Professor Kishan Lara-Cooper, Department of Child Development
Sarah Fay Phillips, Instructional Services Librarian
To be determined, Undergraduate Student
Eamon Daly, Graduate Student
Lura Holtkamp, Academic Affairs/Office of the Provost, staff representative
Melissa Meiris, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, staff representative
Craig Wruck, Vice President, University Advancement
Denice Helwig, Chief of Staff

The committee will meet with the search consultant this week and will review and update the vacancy announcement over the next few weeks. I encourage you to let members of the committee know your views on this important position. The position will be advertised over the summer and review of applications will begin in August with on-campus interviews planned for mid-October.

I am grateful to the committee members for their willingness to take part in this important decision and to the University community for your support of this process.

With best wishes,

Lisa A. Rossbacher, Ph.D.,

Humboldt State University