Department of Mathematics

Kieval Lecture

This lecture series is presented by the HSU Department of Mathematics. Named for HSU Mathematics Professor Emeritus. Dr. Harry S. Kieval, who taught at HSU from 1966 to 1979, the series includes topics on popular and/or broad aspects of mathematics attractive to undergraduates and the public.

The 70th Harry S. Kieval Lecture

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
7:30 P.M.
FH 118

Ken Ono, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics
Emory University

 "Gems of Ramanujan and their Lasting Impact on Mathematics"

Ramanujan's work has has a truly transformative effect on modern mathematics, and continues to do so as we understand further lines from his letters and notebooks. In this lecture, some of the studies of Ramanujan that are most accessible to the general public will be presented and how Ramanujan's findings fundamentally changed modern mathematics, and also influenced the lecturer's work, will be discussed. The speaker is an Associate Producer of the film The Man Who Knew Infinity (starring Dev Patel and Jeremy Irons) about Ramanujan. He will share several clips from the film in the lecture.

Ken Ono is the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Mathematics at Emory University. He is considered to be an expert in the theory of integer partitions and modular forms. He has been invited to speak to audiences all over North America, Asia and Europe. His contributions include several monographs and over 150 research and popular articles in number theory, combinatorics and algebra. He received his Ph.D. from UCLA and has received many awards for his research in number theory, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Packard Fellowship and a Sloan Fellowship. He was awarded a Presidential Early Career Award for Science and Engineering (PECASE) by Bill Clinton in 2000 and he was named the National Science Foundation’s Distinguished Teaching Scholar in 2005. In addition to being a thesis advisor and postdoctoral mentor, he has also mentored dozens of undergraduates and high school students. He serves as Editor-in-Chief for several journals and is an editor of The Ramanujan Journal. He is also a member of the US National Committee for Mathematics at the National Academy of Science.

This is a link to the HSU library video records of the Kieval Lectures.

(In the box marked "Search for:" , type "Kieval")

Previous lecturers in this series have included:

  • Francis Su (details) Spring 2017 (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Erica Flapan (details) Fall 2016 (Pomona College)
  • Bernd  Sturmfels (details) Spring 2016 (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Federico Ardila (details) Fall 2015 (San Francisco State University)
  • Margot Gerritsen (details) Spring 2015 (Stanford University)
  • Benson Farb (details) Fall 2014 (University of Chicago)
  • Tim Chartier (details) Spring 2014 (Davidson College North Carolina)
  • Alan Schoenfeld (details) Fall 2013 (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Abigail Thompson (details) Spring 2013 (University of California at Davis)
  • Robert Bryant (details) Fall 2012 (Mathematical Sciences Research Institute)
  • William G. McCallum (details) Spring 2012 (University of Arizona)
  • Kenneth Ribet (details) Fall 2011 (University of California at Berkeley)
  • David Pengelley (details) Spring 2011 (New Mexico State University)
  • Alice Silverberg (details) Fall 2010 (University of California at Irvine)
  • Robert J. Lang (details) Spring 2010
  • Ken Golden, (details)Fall 2009 (University of Utah)
  • Tony DeRose, (details)Spring 2009 (Pixar Studios)
  • Underwood Dudley, (details) Fall 2008 (DePauw University)
  • Don Albers, (details) Spring 2008 (Mathematical Association of America Books)
  • C. Edward Sandifer, (details) Fall 2007 (Western Connecticut State University)
  • Melanie Wood, (details), Spring 2007 (Princeton University)
  • Jerald Marsden, ( ), Fall 2006 (California Institute of Technology)
  • Deborah Ball, (details) , Spring 2006 (University of Michigan)
  • Majorie Senechal, (details), Fall 2005 (Smith College)
  • Joe Gallian, (details), Spring 2005 (University of Minnesota Duluth)
  • Jennifer Quinn, (details), Fall 2004 (Occidental College)
  • John Conway, (details), Spring 2004 (Princeton University)
  • Persi Diaconis (details), Fall 2003, (Stanford University)
  • Hyman Bass (details) ,Spring 2003 (U. of Michigan)
  • Ann E.Watkins  (details),Fall, 2002(CSU Northridge)
  • Ed Burger  (details), Spring, 2002 (Williams  College)
  • Michael E. Moody  (details ) Fall, 2001 (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Richard Tapia (details) Spring, 2001 ( Rice University)
  • Noam D. Elkies (details) Fall, 2000 (Harvard University)
  • Victor Katz (details) Spring, 2000 (University of the District of Columbia)
  • Arthur Benjamin (details) Fall, 1999 (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Thomas Banchoff (details)Spring, 1999 (Brown University)
  • Frank Giordano (details)  Fall, 1998 (COMAP)
  • Robert L. Devaney (Details) Spring, 1998 (Boston University)
  • Sherman Stein Fall, 1997 (UC Davis)
  • Ron Graham (Details ) Spring, 1997
  • David Hoffman Fall, 1996 (MSRI, Berkeley)
  • Doris Schattschneider Spring, 1996 (Moravian College)
  • Herbert Keller Fall, 1995 (Cal. Inst. of Technology)
  • Keith J. Devlin Spring, 1995 (Saint Mary's College)
  • Deb Hughes Hallett (Harvard) and Jerry Uhl  (U of Ill.) Fall, 1994
  • Gil Strang Spring, 1994(MIT)
  • Carlos Castillo-Chavez Fall, 1993 (Cornell)
  • Judith Grabiner Spring, 1993 (Pitzer College).
  • Judith Tanur Fall, 1992 (SUNY, Stony Brook)
  • Margaret Cozzins Spring, 1992 (Northeastern U.)
  • Saunders MacLane Fall, 1991 (Univ. of Chicago)
  • Branko Grunbaum Spring, 1991 (Univ. of Washington)
  • Robert Moses Fall, 1990
  • George Dantzig Spring, 1990 (Stanford Univ.) 
  • Reuben Hersh Fall, 1989 (Univ. of NM)
  • Ralph Boas Spring, 1989 (Northwestern Univ.)
  • Leon Henkin Fall, 1988 (U.C., Berk.)
  • Mary Ellen Rudin Spring, 1988(Univ. of Wisconsin)
  • Constance Reid Fall, 1987
  • Kenneth Arrow Spring, 1987 (Stanford Univ.)
  • Peter Hilton Fall, 1986 (SUNY, Binghamton)
  • Gerard Debreu Spring, 1986 (U.C.,Berk.)
  • Raymond Smullyan Fall, 1985 (Ind. U.)
  • Paul Halmos Spring, 1985 (Univ.of Santa Clara)
  • Richard Hamming Winter, 1985 (Naval Postgrad.)
  • Victor Klee Spring, 1984 (Univ. of Washington)
  • Ivan Niven Fall, 1983 (Univ. of Oregon)
  • Ronald Graham Spring, 1983 (Bell Labs)