Office of the President

Advisory Groups

University Ombudspersons

2014-2015 Dale Oliver (dale [dot] oliver [at] humboldt [dot] edu) and Laura Hahn (lkh94 [at] humboldt [dot] edu)

University Leadership Council

Meeting Notes

Committee Charge: The University Leadership Council (ULC) is an advisory body to the President on issues of importance to the University.The ULC coordinates with the University Senate on major policy initiatives and other strategic matters. The ULC is a means to disseminate information from the President as well as from other members of the senior management team.

Committee Membership: 

  • The President (Committee Chair)
  • Chief of Staff
  • Vice Presidents
  • Chair, University Senate
  • CIO
  • College Deans
  • Library Dean
  • Research Dean
  • President of Associated Students
  • Budget Director
  • AVP Marketing and Communication
  • AVP eLearning & Extended Education
  • Member of Staff
  • Senior AVP Faculty Affairs and Human Resources

The Committee meets every two weeks or as needed. Meetings notes are posted on the President’s Office website in a timely manner.

Current Membership:

  • Lisa A. Rossbacher, President
  • Denice Helwig, Chief of Staff
  • Jenny Zorn, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Peg Blake, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
  • Joyce Lopes, Vice President for Administration and Finance
  • Craig Wruck, Vice President for University Advancement
  • Noah Zerbe, Chair, University Senate
  • Anna Kircher, Information Technology Services, Chief Information Officer
  • Ken Ayoob, Dean, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • John Lee, Dean, College of Professional Studies
  • Cyril Oberlander, Dean, Library
  • Steven Smith, Dean, College of Natural Resources and Sciences
  • Rhea Williamson, Dean, Sponsored Programs Foundation
  • Frank Whitlatch, Associate Vice President, Marketing and Communication
  • Alex Hwu, Associate Vice President, eLearning & Extended Education
  • Jerry Dinzes, Associated Students President
  • Amber Blakeslee, Interim Budget Director
  • Michael Le, Staff Council Representative
  • Colleen Mullery, Senior AVP Faculty Affairs and Human Resources
  • Mary Hackett, Presidential Aide, Office of the President

Presidential Advisory Committee on Supporting Diversity


  • Kim Berry, Critical Race, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Department
  • Malcolm Chaniwa, English major (Teaching/Language Arts option)
  • Kishan Lara-Cooper, Child Development Department
  • Lupe Lovio, Educational Opportunity Program
  • Jim McQuillan, Education Department, The Yurok Tribe
  • Dale Oliver, Mathematics Department
  • Justus Ortega, Kinesiology & Recreation Department
  • Cara Owings, Native American Studies major
  • Jesus Perez, Sociology major
  • Jennifer Sanford, Counseling & Psychological Services
  • Dan Saveliff, Educational Opportunity Program
  • Tracy Smith, Retention through Academic Mentoring Program
  • Tanza "Tay" Triggs, Student Engagement and Leadership
  • Kumi Watanabe-Schock, Library

HSU Advisory Board

The Humboldt State University Advisory Board is comprised of community members who advise and consult with the President on matters concerning the University and the community.

  • Gary Blatnick
  • Sharon Cissna
  • Lane DeVries
  • Walter Geist
  • Jay Hight
  • Howard Hunt
  • Kurt Kramer
  • Marc Matteoli
  • Heidi Moore
  • Jonathan Speaker
  • Terry Supahan
  • John Woolley