University Senate

HSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association

All emeritus and retired faculty members from Humboldt State University are invited to join the HSU-Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association, as well as encouraged to enroll as members in the CSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association. Information on membership in CSU-ERFA, retirement planning, and a newsletter are available at:

Emeritus status is conferred upon retired tenured faculty members in good standing by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Emeritus faculty have the same rights as active faculty members in the use of University facilities and attendance at University functions. These rights include: library borrowing privileges, access to the University computer system (including maintenance of an email account and *web page), application to and through the HSU Sponsored Programs Foundation for grant support, and others as provided in Section 540 of the HSU Faculty Handbook.

*See Instructions on How to Establish a Personal, Non-Instructional Web Site at HSU

HSU-ERFA meets for luncheon programs on the second Tuesday of the month, Sept.-Dec. and Feb.-May. See ERFA Luncheons for more information.

Parking: The following change to the parking policy was made 6/5/09: Pursuant to direction from the HSU President, HSUPD/Parking will issue to requesting emeritus HSU faculty a parking permit granting that individual member the special privilege of parking a vehicle in certain designated campus parking lots without charge. Before issuing the permit, HSUPD/Parking shall confirm the retired faculty member's status as "emeritus."

2015/2016 HSU-ERFA Coordinating Committee 

John C. Schafer, Coordinator and ERFA Chair

JeDon Emenhiser, Immediate Past Coordinator

Bernadette Cheyne, Program Chair
Jack Stoob, Treasurer
Kenneth Fulgham, Membership Chair, Representative to the CSU ERFA State Council

Marshelle Thobaben

Representative to the CSU ERFA State Council & HSU ERFA Representative to the HSU University Senate

Robert Rasmussen, Committee Member
Milton Dobkin, Committee Member
Ted Ruprecht, Comittee Member
Jack Yarnall, Committee Member    

Printable list of committee members and their duties (pdf)

Admin Support Coordinator: Paula Petersen, Gist Hall 101, (707) 826-3657


Humboldt State University