University Senate

Senate Packet for May 5, 2009

Academic Senate packets are sent via campus mail to all members of the Senate and others by request, the Friday prior to the next scheduled meeting. If you would like to request a printed copy of the Senate packet, please contact the Senate Office at x3657.

  • Agenda (see page 2 of the agenda for report from General Faculty President John Powell)
  • Draft Minutes from April 21, 2009
  • TIME CERTAIN: 4:10 – Presentation of nomination for Outstanding Scholar of the Year (Senate will be in Executive Session)
  • TIME CERTAIN: 4:15-4:30 – Open forum for the campus community
  • TIME CERTAIN: 4:30-4:45 – Update on Faculty Development and Center for Excellence in Learning & Teaching (CELT) – Professor Tasha Souza
  • Approval of the Spring 2009 Graduation List [to be distributed electronically]
  • TIME CERTAIN: 4:50-5:20 – Cabinet for Institutional Change (CIC) – Mary Glenn, Phil Rouse, Dave Kornreich
  • Handouts:
  • TIME CERTAIN: 5:10 – Seating of New Senators and Election of 2009/2010 Senate Officers and Two Members of the Senate Appointments Committee. Nominations will be taken from the floor.
    • Thank you to outgoing senators: Sondra Schwetman (CAHSS), Mary Virnoche (CAHSS), Chris Haynes (CAHSS), David Kornreich (CNRS), Susan Marshall (CNRS), Jane Holschuh (CPS), Mark Larson (Past Senate Chair), Val Arizzi (Staff Council), Andrew Bond (AS), Jennifer DeBoer (AS), Dominic Lether (AS), Sofia Pereira (AS).
    • Welcome new senators: David Heise (CAHSS), Jay Verlinden (CAHSS), Brandon Schwab (CNRS), Martin Flashman (CNRS), Eric Van Duzer (CPS), and David Ellerd (CPS).
  • Year-end Academic Senate Reception, hosted by the President, Windows Café, 5:30-7:00 p.m.
Humboldt State University